## U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission SMALL BUSINESS CAPITAL FORMATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE

July 13, 2022

Dear Chair Gensler:

On behalf of the SEC Small Business Capital Formation Advisory Committee, we are pleased to submit the below recommendation to the Commission, as approved at the Committee's May 6, 2022 meeting.

On March 30, 2022, the Commission proposed rules on <u>Special Purpose Acquisition</u> <u>Companies (SPACs), Shell Companies and Projections</u> (Release No. 33-11048). Our recommendations related to this proposal are as follows:

- The Committee would like for SPACs to remain a viable path for companies to
  pursue as a means of getting access to public market capital. The Committee is
  concerned that the proposed rules, as written, might render SPACs unusable as
  an alternative to IPOs.
- 2. The Committee is generally supportive of improving disclosures for SPACs, particularly in the period of time between the announcement of the merger and the closing of the de-SPAC transaction.
- 3. The Committee encourages the Commission to clearly identify which participants would have underwriter liability. Participants should be held accountable to the same extent they would be in traditional IPOs.
- 4. Management projections are an important part of the rationale for companies in determining whether to engage in a merger with a SPAC, and they are necessary when financial intermediaries provide fairness opinions related to de-SPAC transactions. As a result, the Committee recommends that the projections in de-SPAC transactions be covered by the liability safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act when disclosed in the de-SPAC transaction.
- 5. The Committee recommends that the Commission expand or eliminate the 18 month and 24 month timelines provided in the Investment Company Act safe harbor for SPACs. The requirement to engage in a de-SPAC transaction within 18 months after its IPO and complete its de-SPAC transaction within 24 months could incentivize SPAC sponsors to engage in riskier acquisitions to complete the merger process within the artificially short periods.

Respectfully submitted on behalf of the Advisory Committee,

Carla Garrett
Committee Chair

Jeffrey Solomon
Committee Vice Chair

Donnel Baird

Founder and CEO BlocPower LLC Brooklyn, New York

Kesha Cash

Founder and General Partner Impact America Fund Oakland, CA

Robert Fo

National Managing Partner, Professional Standards Group Grant Thornton LLP Chicago, IL

Carla Garrett

Corporate Partner
Potomac Law Group PLLC
Washington, DC

Stephen Graham

Corporate & Securities Partner Fenwick & West LLP Seattle, WA

Sara Hanks

CEO and Co-Founder CrowdCheck, Inc. Alexandria, VA

Youngro Lee CEO and Co-Founder NextSeed

Houston, TX

Brian Levey

Chief Business Affairs and Legal Officer Upwork Inc.

Sapna Mehta

General Counsel & Chief Compliance Officer, Rise of the Rest Seed Fund; Associate General Counsel, Revolution Washington, DC

Catherine Mott

Founder & CEO of BlueTree Capital Group, BlueTree Allied Angels, BlueTree Venture Fund Pittsburgh, PA

Jason Seats

Chief Investment Officer Techstars Austin, TX

Jeffrey M. Solomon

Chief Executive Officer Cowen, Inc. New York, NY

Hank Torbert

President AltaMax, LLC New Orleans, LA

Sue Washer
President & CEO

Applied Genetic Technology Corporation Gainesville, FL

**Gregory Yadley** 

Partner

Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP Tampa, FL

Greg Dean\*

Senior Vice President Office of Government Affairs, FINRA Washington, DC

Andrea Seidt\*

Ohio Securities Commissioner of the Ohio Securities Department of Commerce; Columbus, OH

Bailev DeVries\*

Associate Administrator for the Office of Investment & Innovation; U.S. Small Business Administration; Washington, DC

Marc Sharma\*

Chief Counsel, Office of the Investor Advocate U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission Washington, DC

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Sara Hanks abstained from supporting the Committee's recommendations.

<sup>\*</sup>Non-voting members

CC: Commissioner Hester M. Peirce Commissioner Allison Herren Lee Commissioner Caroline A. Crenshaw Commissioner Mark T. Uyeda