
Investor Bulletin: 
Transition of Mid-Sized Investment Advisers from Federal to State Registration

       www.investor.gov

The SEC’s Office of Investor Education and Advocacy 
is issuing this Investor Bulletin to make investors aware 
of upcoming changes in the registration rules for some 
investment advisers.   

On July 21, 2010, the Dodd-Frank Wall Street 
Reform and Consumer Protection Act (“Dodd-
Frank Act”) was signed into law.  The Dodd-Frank 
Act amends certain provisions of the Investment 
Advisers Act of 1940 by delegating generally to the 
states responsibility over certain mid-sized investment 
advisers – i.e., those that have between $25 million 
and $100 million of assets under management 
(“AUM”). 

As discussed in greater detail below, the new law and 
rules adopted by the SEC will require a significant 
number of advisers currently registered with the 
SEC to withdraw their registrations with the SEC 
and to switch to registration with one or more state 
securities authorities.  This means that state securities 
authorities will have primary regulatory authority 
over a substantial number of investment advisers that 
previously were subject to primary regulation by the 
SEC.  Larger investment advisers, generally, those 
with over $100 million of AUM, will continue to be 
registered with the SEC and will be subject to federal 
regulation (state investment adviser laws requiring 
registration, licensing, and qualification have been 
preempted for these advisers). 

These changes began to apply to new applicants for 
SEC registration on July 21, 2011, but will not apply 
to advisers currently registered with the SEC until 
2012. 

New AUM Thresholds for SEC Registration

The Dodd-Frank Act and SEC rules increased the 
threshold above which all investment advisers must 
register with the SEC from $30 million to $110 
million of AUM.  Prior to July 2011, an investment 
adviser regulated by the state in which it maintained 
its principal office and place of business generally 
was prohibited from registering with the SEC unless 
the adviser had at least $25 million of AUM, and was 
required to register with the SEC once it had at least 
$30 million of AUM.  Investment advisers with less 
than $110 million of AUM may be prohibited from 
registering with the SEC, depending on the size of the 
adviser’s AUM and whether the adviser meets other 
requirements.

The new thresholds and requirements for registration 
are as follows:

•	 A small adviser with less than $25 million of 
AUM is prohibited from SEC registration if its 
principal office and place of business is in a state 
that regulates advisers (currently all states except 
Wyoming).
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•	 A mid-sized adviser with AUM between 
$25 million and $100 million of AUM:

•	 Is required to register with the SEC if 
its principal office and place of business 
is in New York or Wyoming, unless a 
registration exemption is available, e.g., 
exemption for certain advisers to private 
funds.

•	 Is prohibited from SEC registration if its 
principal office and place of business is in 
any state except New York or Wyoming, 
and the mid-sized adviser is required to be 
registered in that state.  If the mid-sized 
adviser is not required to be registered in 
that state, then the adviser must register 
with the SEC, unless a registration 
exemption is available. 

•	 An adviser approaching $100 million of 
AUM may rely on a registration “buffer” that 

ranges from $90 million to $110 million of 
AUM.  The adviser:

•	 May register with the SEC when it acquires 
$100 million of AUM;

•	 Must register with the SEC once it reaches 
$110 million of AUM, unless a registration 
exemption is available; and

•	 Once registered with the SEC, is not required 
to withdraw from SEC registration and register 
with the states until the adviser has less than 
$90 million of AUM.

•	 A large adviser with at least $110 million of 
AUM is required to register with the SEC, 
unless a registration exemption is available. 

 
Timing of  Transition

The SEC has adopted transition rules which are geared 
toward implementing the transition to state registration 
in an orderly manner.  The following table summarizes 
the key dates for the transition:
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July 21, 2011 to 
December 31, 
2011

January 1, 2012 March 30, 2012 June 28, 2012

New registration 
thresholds and 
requirements apply 
to new applicants, 
but not to existing 
SEC-registered 
advisers until the 
dates indicated 
in this table, as 
applicable.

Each SEC-registered 
adviser as of July 21, 
2011 must remain 
registered with the 
SEC until this date 
(unless relying on an 
exemption).

Last day for all SEC-
registered advisers to 
file the required Form 
ADV amendment.

Mid-sized advisers 
not eligible for SEC 
registration must file 
form ADV-W to 
withdraw by this date.

July 21, 2011 to 
December 31, 2011

January 1, 2012 March 30, 2012 June 28, 2012

http://www.sec.gov/about/forms/formadv.pdf
http://www.sec.gov/about/forms/formadv.pdf
http://www.sec.gov/about/forms/formadv-w.pdf


•	 Existing Registrants.  As described in the table 
above, each SEC-registered adviser as of July 21, 
2011 must remain registered with the SEC until 
January 1, 2012 (unless an exemption from SEC-
registration is available).

•	 Each SEC-registered adviser as of January 
1, 2012 (regardless of size) must file a Form 
ADV amendment by March 30, 2012, 
which for most investment advisers will 
be their annual updating amendment.  The 
adviser should reflect the current market 
value of its AUM determined within 90 
days of the filing, and should update all of 
the other questions on the form.

•	 Mid-sized advisers that are no longer 
eligible for SEC registration will need 
to be registered with the state securities 
authorities by June 28, 2012, and must 
withdraw their SEC registrations by 
filing Form ADV-W, indicating a “partial 
withdrawal,” no later than that date.

•	 New Applicants.  All new mid-sized advisers 
are prohibited from registering with the SEC and 
must register with the state securities authorities.  
These advisers must register with the applicable 
state, unless a registration exemption is available 
in that state, e.g., exemption for certain advisers to 
private funds.

 

Who Regulates Your Investment Adviser?

It is important to know which regulator oversees 
your investment adviser.  Is your investment adviser 
regulated primarily by the SEC or by a state securities 
authority?  Do you know whether your investment 
adviser is small, mid-sized, or large (based on its 
AUM)?  Consider contacting your investment adviser 
to find out who has primary responsibility for 
regulating it.
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                   Related Information

Check Out Your Investment Adviser on 
the Investment Adviser Public Disclosure 
Database (IAPD)

Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Mid-
Sized Advisers

The adopting release amending Form ADV, 
dated June 22, 2011, can be found at: http://
www.sec.gov/rules/final/2011/ia-3221.pdf.

Amended Form ADV can be found at: 
http://www.sec.gov/rules/final/2011/ia-
3221-appd.pdf.

Amended Form ADV instructions can 
be found at: http://www.sec.gov/rules/
final/2011/ia-3221-appa.pdf and http://
www.sec.gov/rules/final/2011/ia-3221-
appb.pdf.

For information on how the new law and 
rules adopted by the SEC might affect small 
businesses, see the Small Entity Compliance 
Guide: Rules Implementing Dodd-Frank Act 
Amendments to the Investment Advisers Act.

The North American Securities 
Administrators Association (NASAA) 
provides information for mid-sized 
investment advisers regarding the switch from 
federal to state registration:

http://www.nasaa.org/1719/ia-switch-
resource-center/
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The Office of Investor Education and Advocacy has 
provided this information as a service to investors.  It 
is neither a legal interpretation nor a statement of 
SEC policy.  If you have questions concerning the 
meaning or application of a particular law or rule, 
please consult with an attorney who specializes in 
securities law.
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